Thread: Ryan McBean.....Diamond in the rough?

Bookmark and Share
    SA's Bouncer
    My Mood
    Addicted

Ryan McBean.....Diamond in the rough?

For somebody who didnt grow up around football, Ryan McBean certainly has his head on straight when it comes to the game.

Often times, players who are foreign born show flashes of athleticism and talent, but dont have the desire or wherewithal to become great. Not having grown up around the game, they lack some of the intangibles that are needed to play the game.

Ryan McBean, the second of two fourth-round draft picks by the Pittsburgh Steelers in last months NFL draft, is trying to fight that stereotype.
    I love football, said McBean. Football is my life and has been my long dream and Im glad to be here.
    The 6-5, 295-pound McBean, who was born in Jamaica, admits hes behind the learning curve, but has a strong desire to get better.
    Im still learning, McBean said. Put me with a coach, Im just like a kid. Im still learning and I want to learn. I want to keep learning. Im good right now, but I know that I could be better. I could be great at anything I do. Thats my position; Im very young at the game.
    The Steelers are hoping that John Mitchell, their defensive line coach, is that man.
    Mitchell has made a habit out of taking raw players the Steelers have selected in later rounds in the draft and turning them into fine finished products. In recent years, hes done wonders with Aaron Smith (fourth round), Brett Keisel (seventh), Rodney Bailey (fourth) and Chris Hoke (undrafted).
    Anybody can look at a first or second-round guy on tape and say, This guy has a lot of ability, said Mitchell. But when you can find a guy in the rough, like Ryan, Im excited.
    The 23-year-old McBean offers a lot to be excited about. Though hes nearly 300 pounds, he runs a sub-5-second 40-yard dash and also possesses a quick first step.