Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Congrats to Ben Roethlisberger on getting his degree

Bookmark and Share
    My Mood
    Curmudgeon

Congrats to Ben Roethlisberger on getting his degree

Tweeted out today by Miami of Ohio, @MiamiRedHawks: Congratulations to @steelers QB #BigBen Roethlisberger on receiving his #MiamiU degree today

Here's an article from USA today about it.

Here's a picture you don't see every commencement. The new graduate, smiling with family, holds up his diploma in his right hand. On the same hand — the championship ring from Super Bowl XLIII.

Now on the stage, receiving his certificate, Benjamin T. Roethlisberger.
    "How could I tell my children one day how important an education is, if I didn't have one?" Roethlisberger explained. "This is pretty special to me. I'm proud to not just say I'm an alum. Now I'm a graduate."

That's why he was here Sunday morning, marching with 600 fellow classmates in the Miami School of Education, Health & Society. Just another guy in a red gown and white sash, walking slowly in to Pomp and Circumstance, then taking his seat in the ninth row. All this, nine years after he left Oxford for the Steelers.

Most of the assembly didn't know Roethlisberger was coming. When he suddenly appeared in the lineup with his class, the cell phones quickly came out and the texting began.

"I'm going to be sitting there thinking, 'When I was in college, this person (next to him) was probably in middle school,' " Roethlisberger said before the ceremony. "I'm going to be the old man out there, but it's worth it.' "

Worth it, because he promised his parents in 2003, when he left Miami four credits short for the NFL, that one day he would graduate.

Lots of pro-bound athletes say that, but how many end up meaning it? A career gets in the way. Money gets in the way. Life gets in the way. In this case, winning two Super Bowls got in the way.