Thread: Close relationship between Redman's uncle and Arians

Bookmark and Share

Close relationship between Redman's uncle and Arians

Redman not settling this time around
    By Scott Brown, PITTSBURGH TRIBUNE-REVIEW
    Tuesday, August 10, 2010

If another stellar training camp serves as a springboard to making the Steelers' 53-man roster, running back Isaac Redman will be able to reflect on how far he has come.

Last year, Redman arrived at St. Vincent College in less than stellar football shape. He barely completed the conditioning test that precedes the start of training camp and labored so mightily during a series of 100-yard runs that Steelers running backs coach Kirby Wilson called it "comical."

It very easily could have been no laughing matter for Redman.

"I looked out of shape," said Redman, whose problems were compounded by the fact that he has asthma. "I'm a rookie, undrafted. They could have sent me right home."

Redman has overcome that humbling start to his Steelers' career and is bidding to fill the critical and, as yet, unclaimed role of short-yardage back.

The 6-foot, 230-pounder has the power, vision and balance that is required to grind out the tough yards when they are needed most.

Perhaps just as significant for the Steelers is the surge in confidence Redman experienced after spending a season on the practice squad and training with the team this offseason.

"I know the offense now and I actually feel like a pro," said Redman, who has also been working at fullback. "I'm not settling for practice squad this year. I definitely can be that (short-yardage) guy."

How Redman performs in the preseason games starting Saturday against Detroit will go a long way toward his convincing the Steelers' coaches the same thing.

Redman had mixed results in the Steelers' first live action of training camp Sunday.