PDA

View Full Version : Steelers with currently just $3.7 million in cap space



BlitzburghRockCity
07-03-2012, 09:58 AM
With training camp now just weeks away, the Steelers are, as always, running very close to the salary cap for this season. Also as the article points out, the cap isn't expected to change all that much in 2013 either.

However in 2014 if TV deal money comes through in the manner that many expect, that's when you can expect to see a significant jump in the cap going forward.

Steelers and Ravens in bottom 10 with fewest available money, Browns and Bengals in top 5 with the most money.


Jacksonville Jaguars: $25,115,885
Tennessee Titans: $19,970,080
Cleveland Browns (http://www.nfl.com/teams/clevelandbrowns/profile?team=CLE)
: $17,774,764
Kansas City Chiefs (http://www.nfl.com/teams/kansascitychiefs/profile?team=KC)
: $16,548,048
Cincinnati Bengals (http://www.nfl.com/teams/cincinnatibengals/profile?team=CIN)
: $16,309,693

Philadelphia Eagles:
$15,879,570
Tampa Bay Buccaneers:
$15,740,231
Indianapolis Colts (http://www.nfl.com/teams/indianapoliscolts/profile?team=IND)
: $14,595,514
Green Bay Packers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/greenbaypackers/profile?team=GB)
: $11,255,804
Denver Broncos (http://www.nfl.com/teams/denverbroncos/profile?team=DEN)
: $10,878,461
New England Patriots (http://www.nfl.com/teams/newenglandpatriots/profile?team=NE)
: $10,873,988
Minnesota Vikings (http://www.nfl.com/teams/minnesotavikings/profile?team=MIN)
: $10,595,534
Carolina Panthers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/carolinapanthers/profile?team=CAR)
: $8,769,801
Seattle Seahawks (http://www.nfl.com/teams/seattleseahawks/profile?team=SEA)
: $7,470,071
Buffalo Bills (http://www.nfl.com/teams/buffalobills/profile?team=BUF)
: $7,382,319
Dallas Cowboys (http://www.nfl.com/teams/dallascowboys/profile?team=DAL)
: $7,188,021
Washington Redskins (http://www.nfl.com/teams/washingtonredskins/profile?team=WAS)
: $6,970,162
New York Jets (http://www.nfl.com/teams/newyorkjets/profile?team=NYJ)
: $6,044,153
Arizona Cardinals (http://www.nfl.com/teams/arizonacardinals/profile?team=ARI)
: $4,552,576
Miami Dolphins (http://www.nfl.com/teams/miamidolphins/profile?team=MIA)
: $4,458,211
Houston Texans (http://www.nfl.com/teams/houstontexans/profile?team=HOU)
: $4,053,256
Chicago Bears (http://www.nfl.com/teams/chicagobears/profile?team=CHI)
: $3,976,700
Detroit Lions (http://www.nfl.com/teams/detroitlions/profile?team=DET)
: $3,775,829
Pittsburgh Steelers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/pittsburghsteelers/profile?team=PIT)
: $3,734,063
St. Louis Rams (http://www.nfl.com/teams/st.louisrams/profile?team=STL)
: $3,602,486
San Francisco 49ers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/sanfrancisco49ers/profile?team=SF)
: $3,394,599
New York Giants (http://www.nfl.com/teams/newyorkgiants/profile?team=NYG)
: $3,119,114
San Diego Chargers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/sandiegochargers/profile?team=SD)
: $2,862,095
Atlanta Falcons (http://www.nfl.com/teams/atlantafalcons/profile?team=ATL)
: $2,834,873
New Orleans Saints (http://www.nfl.com/teams/neworleanssaints/profile?team=NO)
: $2,272,081
Oakland Raiders (http://www.nfl.com/teams/oaklandraiders/profile?team=OAK)
: $1,347,040
Baltimore Ravens (http://www.nfl.com/teams/baltimoreravens/profile?team=BAL)
: $606,858
Full article at NFL.com (http://www.nfl.com/news/story/09000d5d82a421db/article/available-salarycap-space-for-all-32-nfl-teams)

86WARD
07-03-2012, 10:46 AM
The Eagles always have cash available...lol.

BlitzburghRockCity
07-03-2012, 11:53 AM
Browns and Bengals always with so much room :lol:

The Patriots are the exception, that team is good every year and they always have significant money available.

K Train
07-03-2012, 11:55 AM
eagles signing nnamdi, peterson, samuelm, babin, mccoy, jackson, vick, ryans all to big deals over the last few years and still having that much money is infuriating. hell they were hard in the running for peppers and mario too. pricks

BubbyBlister
07-03-2012, 02:57 PM
eagles signing nnamdi, peterson, samuelm, babin, mccoy, jackson, vick, ryans all to big deals over the last few years and still having that much money is infuriating. hell they were hard in the running for peppers and mario too. pricks Look how it's help them.

steelersbabex25
07-04-2012, 01:12 AM
The Eagles are the Penguins of football. Doubt their GM is as awesome as Ray Shero though..

Real Deal Steel
07-04-2012, 10:55 AM
Eagles also look to move guys when they hit 31 years of age too. Meaning when you backload that second contract so a player doesn't see the majority of the contract,that's fiscal management .

coldrolled
07-04-2012, 05:59 PM
i guess we have enough to sign wallace for one year...

Nolrog
07-05-2012, 07:20 AM
Any contending team that has significant cap money available should be ashamed of themselves. You need to keep a little money to bring in a guy because of an injury, but that's it.

And with respect to the cap jumping significantly in 2014, there are many analyses saying that the jump won't be dramatic, and it may not increase much at all.

"The average of the current deal is $1.93 billion. By the end of the new deal, the average will be $3.1 billion. But it is a gradual progression, and the NFL won't reach that top revenue number until 2022.

So in 2014, the league will shift from the high point of the old deal to the low point of the new one. Without getting specific, Lewand said: "There is not a big jump.""

http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/post/_/id/56191/speaking-too-soon-on-2014-salary-cap-spike

Nolrog
07-05-2012, 07:23 AM
i guess we have enough to sign wallace for one year...

Likely that cap number already included Wallace's tender, so there shouldn't be a problem when he signs it. If they do get him signed to a long term deal, it would likely include a fair amount of bonus money and lower annual salaries so that the cap hit isn't terrible.

K Train
07-05-2012, 09:45 AM
Look how it's help them.
its not their additions of premium talent through FA and drafting thats stopped them, its the fat man that when it comes to offense is the square peg in a round hole champion of the universe.

the eagles have great cap management, they have mastered that part of the game

alot of these teams with huge cap room are going to have to spend big next year (90% i believe)

and yes, wallace's tender is included already so that would clear that much cap space as well if they sign him long term....which realistically would be a cap wizard move to make it happen at this point with this amount available

ChucktownSteeler
07-05-2012, 03:22 PM
Yes, let's give Mike Wallace $14 million a year. Based on this, Mike isn't going to be here long term.