PDA

View Full Version : Bengals sign Terrance Newman



BlitzburghRockCity
04-11-2012, 01:59 PM
These old former high draft pick veterans seem to find a home in Cincy these days...

The Bengals continued their run of signing former first-round picks, agreeing to a one-year deal (http://espn.go.com/nfl/story/_/id/7800494/cincinnati-bengals-add-ex-dallas-cowboys-cb-terence-newman) with Cowboys free agent cornerback Terence Newman (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/4463/terence-newman), according to ESPN NFL Insider Adam Schefter (https://twitter.com/#%21/adamschefter).

2011 STATS


Tot53
Solo45
Ast8
FF0
Sack0.0
Int4




Newman becomes the sixth former first-round pick signed by the Bengals in free agency this year, joining cornerbacks Adam Jones (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/8421/adam-jones) and Jason Allen (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/9602/jason-allen), safety Reggie Nelson (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/10465/reggie-nelson), defensive lineman Jamaal Anderson (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11116/jamaal-anderson) and defensive end Derrick Harvey (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11241/derrick-harvey).

Given that the Bengals have two first-round picks in this year's draft (Nos. 17 and 21), they could go into the season with 15 of them on their 53-man roster. That's 28 percent of the team. Cincinnati could trim that number down if the team ends up trading (http://espn.go.com/blog/afcnorth/post/_/id/45692/are-the-bengals-trading-rivers-to-giants) linebacker Keith Rivers (http://espn.go.com/nfl/player/_/id/11243/keith-rivers) to the New York Giants (http://espn.go.com/nfl/team/_/name/nyg/new-york-giants).

http://espn.go.com/blog/afcnorth/post/_/id/45704/bengals-add-another-former-first-rounder

LatrobePA
04-11-2012, 02:46 PM
Pretty solid pick up IMO!

strummerfan
04-11-2012, 03:17 PM
Wonders how long it will be before Steeler fan complains about the FO not doing anything

VMoss
04-11-2012, 03:45 PM
Pretty solid pick up IMO!
Terrence Newman hasn't been a good corner for a couple of years now. He's always getting beat deep now and days. Now that he sees Mike Wallace and Antonio Brown twice a year now, he's really not going to be much of an impact. Good Job Cincy they make our job easier :lol:

connecticutsteel
04-11-2012, 03:50 PM
newman is done

ChucktownSteeler
04-11-2012, 07:35 PM
NEWMAN (Seinfeld reference)

LatrobePA
04-12-2012, 11:12 AM
newman is done

The Bengals don't think so.. lol

JensK
04-12-2012, 12:58 PM
Just a solid pick up really. Sure, he might not be the greatest CB right now, but he provide quality depth and experience.

Zachintosh66
04-12-2012, 11:52 PM
hell be hurt by week 6