PDA

View Full Version : Future Salary Problems?

Mc_Muffin
02-22-2012, 02:07 PM
Hey there,

in my defense I am not a huge expert on Football so I got a few question on the Cap Situation.

Let's say the Steelers are able to make it under the cap for 2012 by restructering the contracs on all the players (like Harrison and all those)...

Isn't that gonna make the Problems even worse in Future years? I mean as I understood the whole point in restructering its like saying "Ok you get a little more money, but you get it next year"...Like lets say you have a player that hits for 4 Mio...then you go ask the player if its ok to give him 2 Mio this year but instead give him 2.5 Mios spread over the remaining time of contract in addition to what he would have gotten anyway.

That goes on until the Steelers will have to commit to a rebuilding year where they just drop a bunch of good players to really save some money and then sign a couple of goods players with the cap space that you then have free in the following years?

I hope you see where I am trying to go with this. And I also hope, that you can tell me where exactly my logic is wrong, because if I'm not right, that means that the Steelers will have to build in a rebuilding year sooner or later?

Greets,

Mc_Muffin

BlitzburghRockCity
02-22-2012, 02:25 PM
Basically when a player gets a restructure done on an existing contract, they take his salary for that year and turn a portion of it into a signing bonus that they can then spread out over the life of the contract. The player doesn’t actually lose any money he just gets a big check now and much less in his game checks during the season.