PDA

View Full Version : 5 Steelers will head to the Pro Bowl in Hawaii



BlitzburghRockCity
12-27-2011, 07:14 PM
Strong safety Troy Polamalu and quarterback Ben Roethlisberger are among five Steelers that have made the AFC Pro Bowl team.
(http://www.pittsburghlive.com/x/pittsburghtrib/sports/steelers/s_773900.html)
Polamalu, center Maurkice Pouncey and wide receiver Mike Wallace have been named starters in the annual all-star game that will be played a week before the Super Bowl in Hawaii. Roethlisberger is a reserve and wide receiver Antonio Brown made the team as a kickoff returner.

Outside linebacker James Harrison is a first alternate for the AFC squad, while outside linebacker LaMarr Woodley and free safety Ryan Clark have been named second alternates.

The Steelers' hope is that none of their player suit up for the game as it means they will be preparing for the Super Bowl.

Polamalu was selected to his seventh consecutive Pro Bowl. Roethlisberger and Pouncey are two-time Pro Bowl selections while Wallace and Brown were named to the team for the first time.

OFFENSE

*Tom Brady (http://www.nfl.com/players/tombrady/profile?id=BRA371156), New England
* Ben Roethlisberger (http://www.nfl.com/players/benroethlisberger/profile?id=ROE750381), Pittsburgh
Philip Rivers (http://www.nfl.com/players/philiprivers/profile?id=RIV651634), San Diego Running back

* Ray Rice (http://www.nfl.com/players/rayrice/profile?id=RIC154451), Baltimore
Maurice Jones-Drew (http://www.nfl.com/players/mauricejones-drew/profile?id=DRE527472), Jacksonville
Arian Foster (http://www.nfl.com/players/arianfoster/profile?id=FOS107404), Houston Fullback
* Vonta Leach (http://www.nfl.com/players/vontaleach/profile?id=LEA142755), Baltimore Wide receiver

* Wes Welker (http://www.nfl.com/players/weswelker/profile?id=WEL219433), New England
* Mike Wallace (http://www.nfl.com/player/mikewallace/2507763/profile), Pittsburgh
A.J. Green (http://www.nfl.com/players/a.j.green/profile?id=GRE034604), Cincinnati

Brandon Marshall (http://www.nfl.com/players/brandonmarshall/profile?id=MAR370922), Miami Tight end

* Rob Gronkowski (http://www.nfl.com/players/robgronkowski/profile?id=GRO135948), New England
Antonio Gates (http://www.nfl.com/players/antoniogates/profile?id=GAT194627), San Diego Tackle
* Joe Thomas (http://www.nfl.com/players/joethomas/profile?id=THO236114), Cleveland
* Jake Long (http://www.nfl.com/players/jakelong/profile?id=LON319884), Miami
D'Brickashaw Ferguson (http://www.nfl.com/players/d%27brickashawferguson/profile?id=FER084595), N.Y. Jets Guard
* Logan Mankins (http://www.nfl.com/players/loganmankins/profile?id=MAN347391), New England
* Brian Waters (http://www.nfl.com/players/brianwaters/profile?id=WAT054642), New England
Marshal Yanda (http://www.nfl.com/players/marshalyanda/profile?id=YAN330781), Baltimore Center
* Maurkice Pouncey (http://www.nfl.com/players/maurkicepouncey/profile?id=POU550260), Pittsburgh
Nick Mangold (http://www.nfl.com/players/nickmangold/profile?id=MAN228598), N.Y. Jets


* Antonio Brown (http://www.nfl.com/player/antoniobrown/2508061/profile), Pittsburgh

DEFENSE

Dwight Freeney (http://www.nfl.com/players/dwightfreeney/profile?id=FRE417537), Indianapolis
* Andre Carter (http://www.nfl.com/players/andrecarter/profile?id=CAR609667), New England
Elvis Dumervil (http://www.nfl.com/players/elvisdumervil/profile?id=DUM179959), Denver

* Haloti Ngata (http://www.nfl.com/players/halotingata/profile?id=NGA622937), Baltimore
* Vince Wilfork (http://www.nfl.com/players/vincewilfork/profile?id=WIL059369), New England
Richard Seymour (http://www.nfl.com/players/richardseymour/profile?id=SEY682400), Oakland Outside linebacker

* Terrell Suggs (http://www.nfl.com/players/terrellsuggs/profile?id=SUG467201), Baltimore
* Von Miller (http://www.nfl.com/players/vonmiller/profile?id=MIL597654), Denver
Tamba Hali (http://www.nfl.com/players/tambahali/profile?id=HAL131362), Kansas City Inside/midde linebacker
* Ray Lewis (http://www.nfl.com/players/raylewis/profile?id=LEW562347), Baltimore

Derrick Johnson (http://www.nfl.com/player/derrickjohnson/2506353/profile), Kansas City Cornerback
* Darrelle Revis (http://www.nfl.com/players/darrellerevis/profile?id=REV515344), N.Y. Jets
* Champ Bailey (http://www.nfl.com/players/champbailey/profile?id=BAI582194), Denver
Johnathan Joseph (http://www.nfl.com/players/johnathanjoseph/profile?id=JOS218478), Houston Free safety
* Ed Reed (http://www.nfl.com/players/edreed/profile?id=REE192451), Baltimore
Eric Weddle (http://www.nfl.com/players/ericweddle/profile?id=WED290361), San Diego Strong safety
* Troy Polamalu (http://www.nfl.com/players/troypolamalu/profile?id=POL041872), Pittsburgh

Full AFC & NFC Rosters for the Pro Bowl (http://www.nfl.com/probowl/story/09000d5d82578253/article/2012-pro-bowl-rosters?module=HP11_breaking_news)

Raleigh Steel
12-27-2011, 07:35 PM
congrats to all the steelers who made the pro bowl...kinda weird that only 1 defensive player made it...kudos to the back-ups who came in a played admirably to keep the D one of the top D's in the league!

SteelDad
12-27-2011, 07:46 PM
Congrats indeed to Ben, Maurkice, AB, Mike Wallace and Troy. Also props to Ryan, Silverback and Wood.

HUGE diss to Ike Taylor. Total BS he didnt get an invite.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using Tapatalk

BlitzburghRockCity
12-27-2011, 08:00 PM
It's disgusting that Ike still doesn't make the pro bowl. Even if it is nothing more than a popularity contest and a free trip to Hawaii or Florida for the winners, he should still be in it based on his play.

Nobody watches it on TV any more, everyone knows it's a joke.

SteelCityVoice
12-27-2011, 08:02 PM
Ike Taylor belongs on this team. His stats are very comparable with Champ Bailey. Ike covers the other team's top receivers and really outside of Probowler AJ Green, he has shut down every other target he covered.

Goodfrom55
12-27-2011, 08:03 PM
I haven't watched the pro-bowl in years. It's a glorified scrimmage and will not watch it until Ike is voted in. The guy is a complete CB and it's horsesh*t that he is skipped over again.

SteelerJay
12-27-2011, 08:34 PM
congrats to all the steelers who made it this year, i'm glad to see BB get in he deserves it every bit, yea he doesnt have the stats that brady or bress put up but he has lead this team beyound what either of those two guys could ever do other then putting up the numbers!

but its bullshit IKE isn't in

Raleigh Steel
12-27-2011, 08:49 PM
you guys are right about IKE...i can't believe i didn't notice he was left out. he's very deserving of making the PB

steelersbabex25
12-27-2011, 09:11 PM
Ike not making the probowl is just more proof that all it is is a popularity contest. Nobody outside of Steeler Nation votes for Ike because nobody hears about him, and yet he shuts down some of the best WRs in the league game after game after game.

Black@Gold Forever32
12-27-2011, 09:12 PM
I hope all five miss the Pro Bowl.....That would mean the Steelers in the Super Bowl.....:)

LatrobePA
12-27-2011, 10:20 PM
I hope all five miss the Pro Bowl.....That would mean the Steelers in the Super Bowl.....:)

Ditto! But congrats fellas!

Scorp
12-27-2011, 10:22 PM
I hope all five miss the Pro Bowl.....That would mean the Steelers in the Super Bowl.....:)

:cope:

Black@Gold Forever32
12-27-2011, 10:46 PM
Yea I'm happy for the 5 that were elected to the team....especially first timers like Wallace and Brown......Shame Woodley got hurt since the terror he was on he would have been shoe in for the Pro Bowl.....Ike got screwed but expected that......

BlitzburghRockCity
12-27-2011, 10:57 PM
When you think about it, Troy definitely deserves it since he's played very well this year. Harrison was hurt and Woodley was as well so them making it as alternates is nice even though neither of them has had a full season to get their stats up.

Roethlisberger has been on fire, should be a starter in my mind but I know the competition is stiff. Pouncey has been in and out of the lineup and hasn't had the impact year that he did in 2010. Still though when he's out of the lineup it's painfully obvious.

I'm really happy for Antonio Brown, this kid is just amazing to watch.

Black@Gold Forever32
12-27-2011, 10:58 PM
I think Troy got elected due to more of his rep then his play this year.....To me not one of Troy's best years.....

DIESELMAN
12-28-2011, 02:36 AM
Only way Ike gets into the Pro bowl, is to have at least 5-6 INT's. I agree though, he needs to be in Hawaii, aside from the lack of INT's, he shuts 'em down every week. Maybe next year Ike.....keep ballin bro!!!

connecticutsteel
12-28-2011, 02:37 AM
ray lewis,ed reed are lazy choices

K Train
12-28-2011, 09:13 AM
shame none will be able to play

DIESELMAN
12-28-2011, 10:38 AM
shame none will be able to play

:woot:

Steelers_All_Day_43
12-28-2011, 11:52 AM
shame none will be able to play. :)

BlitzburghRockCity
12-28-2011, 07:48 PM
I think Brett Keisel has done enough to get into the pro bowl, he's an unsung hero much in the mold of what Aaron Smith was in his hay day.


ray lewis,ed reed are lazy choices

Isn't that the way it always is. People getting in their reputations instead of giving players a chance to make the pro bowl roster based on the current years stats alone. It will never be that way though.

Fans will play the homer card and vote for their teams players even if they aren't deserving that year. Even though the players and coaches votes count for 2/3 of the total, even they are not immune to the popular choices every year.

Nolrog
12-29-2011, 07:40 AM
Quote:
The Steelers' hope is that none of their player suit up for the game as it means they will be preparing for the Super Bowl.
Quote

This makes the pro bowl so much more meaningless than it ever was before. Many of the players people want to see and the best players can't participate because they are getting ready for the big game. Another stupid move by Bud Selig. . oh wait, that's baseball. I just assume every sport that gets Fed up is done by Bud Selig. I meant Rube Baker.