PDA

View Full Version : Franco Harris to announce 2nd round pick



BlitzburghRockCity
04-22-2011, 10:31 AM
http://www.nfl.com/draft/story/09000d5d81f61677/article/retired-nfl-stars-to-announce-secondround-draft-picks

NEW YORK -- Barry Sanders, Franco Harris, Marshall Faulk and 29 other retired star players will announce their former teams' second-round picks at the NFL draft April 29.

The league announced Thursday it would have players announce the picks for an entire round for the first time. The Carolina Panthers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/carolinapanthers/profile?team=CAR), Miami Dolphins (http://www.nfl.com/teams/miamidolphins/profile?team=MIA) and New York Jets (http://www.nfl.com/teams/newyorkjets/profile?team=NYJ) don't have second-round selections, so their representatives will announce their third-round picks.

The players are:
Aeneas Williams, Arizona Cardinals (http://www.nfl.com/teams/arizonacardinals/profile?team=ARI)
Jessie Tuggle, Atlanta Falcons (http://www.nfl.com/teams/atlantafalcons/profile?team=ATL)
Peter Boulware, Baltimore Ravens (http://www.nfl.com/teams/baltimoreravens/profile?team=BAL)
Andre Reed, Buffalo Bills (http://www.nfl.com/teams/buffalobills/profile?team=BUF)
Brad Hoover, Carolina Panthers
Richard Dent, Chicago Bears (http://www.nfl.com/teams/chicagobears/profile?team=CHI)
Anthony Munoz, Cincinnati Bengals (http://www.nfl.com/teams/cincinnatibengals/profile?team=CIN)
Paul Warfield, Cleveland Browns (http://www.nfl.com/teams/clevelandbrowns/profile?team=CLE)
Charles Haley, Dallas Cowboys (http://www.nfl.com/teams/dallascowboys/profile?team=DAL)
Shannon Sharpe, Denver Broncos (http://www.nfl.com/teams/denverbroncos/profile?team=DEN)
Barry Sanders, Detroit Lions (http://www.nfl.com/teams/detroitlions/profile?team=DET)
Jim Taylor, Green Bay Packers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/greenbaypackers/profile?team=GB)
Aaron Glenn, Houston Texans (http://www.nfl.com/teams/houstontexans/profile?team=HOU)
Jeff Herrod, Indianapolis Colts (http://www.nfl.com/teams/indianapoliscolts/profile?team=IND)
Donovin Darius, Jacksonville Jaguars (http://www.nfl.com/teams/jacksonvillejaguars/profile?team=JAC)
Willie Lanier, Kansas City Chiefs (http://www.nfl.com/teams/kansascitychiefs/profile?team=KC)
Sam Madison, Miami Dolphins
Chris Doleman, Minnesota Vikings (http://www.nfl.com/teams/minnesotavikings/profile?team=MIN)
Andre Tippett, New England Patriots (http://www.nfl.com/teams/newenglandpatriots/profile?team=NE)
Willie Roaf, New Orleans Saints (http://www.nfl.com/teams/neworleanssaints/profile?team=NO)
Joe Morris, New York Giants (http://www.nfl.com/teams/newyorkgiants/profile?team=NYG)
Marty Lyons, New York Jets
Willie Brown, Oakland Raiders (http://www.nfl.com/teams/oaklandraiders/profile?team=OAK)
Troy Vincent, Philadelphia Eagles (http://www.nfl.com/teams/philadelphiaeagles/profile?team=PHI)
Franco Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/pittsburghsteelers/profile?team=PIT)
Natrone Means, San Diego Chargers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/sandiegochargers/profile?team=SD)
Dwight Clark, San Francisco 49ers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/sanfrancisco49ers/profile?team=SF)
Cortez Kennedy, Seattle Seahawks (http://www.nfl.com/teams/seattleseahawks/profile?team=SEA)
Marshall Faulk, St. Louis Rams (http://www.nfl.com/teams/st.louisrams/profile?team=STL)
John Lynch, Tampa Bay Buccaneers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/tampabaybuccaneers/profile?team=TB)
Jevon Kearse, Tennessee Titans (http://www.nfl.com/teams/tennesseetitans/profile?team=TEN)
Doug Williams, Washington Redskins (http://www.nfl.com/teams/washingtonredskins/profile?team=WAS).

connecticutsteel
04-22-2011, 12:22 PM
a feeble attempt to saciate retired players goodell is trying to ingraciate himself to the older player strictly a PR move

BlitzburghRockCity
04-22-2011, 02:41 PM
I think the timing is poor to say the least, but I believe this has been in the works for a couple years now. Atleast the idea of doing it has been. Either way though I'm sure the NFL is more than happy to try and improve their image with former players. :/

Root4Stlrs
04-22-2011, 04:32 PM
It makes it a little more entertaining, I guess, although they should spend more time considering how to end this lockout than worrying about who's going to announce the drafting of players who might not get a chance to play this year.

steeldoc
04-23-2011, 05:53 PM
Yes, it's a blatant PR move but a pretty cool idea. I never tire of seeing Franco. I love the way he loves the Steelers and the Steeler nation, (unlike some dimwitted bald qb from Louisiana).:tt02::tt02::tt02:

Real Deal Steel
04-24-2011, 11:43 AM
Yes, it's a blatant PR move but a pretty cool idea. I never tire of seeing Franco. I love the way he loves the Steelers and the Steeler nation, (unlike some dimwitted bald qb from Louisiana).:tt02::tt02::tt02:

True.

It's always good for teams to keep the connection with their great players from the past.

I just think that the timing makes it look hypocritical to say the least.