PDA

View Full Version : Who Will Play in Super Bowl XLV?



steelers4life66
01-26-2010, 08:31 PM
First off, I would like to congratulate the Indianapolis Colts (http://bleacherreport.com/indianapolis-colts) and the New Orleans Saints for earning the right to fight for the Lombardi Trophy in Super Bowl XLIV. The teams and the fans have an exciting two weeks to prepare for the biggest game of the season.
For everyone else, we have 54 weeks before we have a chance to see if our teams will be competing for the Lombardi in Super Bowl XLV.
I am going to save everyone a bunch of headaches, and tell everyone who is going to go. I am not just guessing, but using deductive reasoning.
First off, the teams that have no chance. These are the worst teams in the league in 2009. I am not saying some teams will not get better, and that some won't be much improved from last year. Only to be one of the worst teams one year, pretty much means you will not be one of the best the next year.
Detroit Lions (http://bleacherreport.com/detroit-lions), St. Louis Rams (http://bleacherreport.com/st-louis-rams), Tampa Bay Buccaneers (http://bleacherreport.com/tampa-bay-buccaneers), Kansas City Chiefs (http://bleacherreport.com/kansas-city-chiefs), Oakland Raiders (http://bleacherreport.com/oakland-raiders), Kansas City Chiefs, Buffalo Bills (http://bleacherreport.com/buffalo-bills), Washington Redskins (http://bleacherreport.com/washington-redskins), Chicago Bears (http://bleacherreport.com/chicago-bears), Seattle Seahawks (http://bleacherreport.com/seattle-seahawks), and Cleveland Browns (http://bleacherreport.com/cleveland-browns).
These teams are already eliminated, so if they are your team, then sorry about your luck.
Now we address the teams that have a way to go, but are not quite there yet. These are teams with major coaching issues. Now, I know that some of you will say that there were TWO rookie coaches in the Championship games, but come on now, that was coincidence.
The Carolina Panthers (http://bleacherreport.com/carolina-panthers) and Jacksonville Jaguars (http://bleacherreport.com/jacksonville-jaguars) have been eliminated.
Then you have the teams that have improved, but haven't come far enough. This takes out the Cincinnati Bengals (http://bleacherreport.com/cincinnati-bengals), Miami Dolphins (http://bleacherreport.com/miami-dolphins), Denver Broncos (http://bleacherreport.com/denver-broncos), Houston Texans (http://bleacherreport.com/houston-texans), San Francisco 49ers (http://bleacherreport.com/san-francisco-49ers), and the Atlanta Falcons (http://bleacherreport.com/atlanta-falcons).
Now we have the teams with the key players being too old to contribute enough to lift their team past the Championship games. NOTE: These teams may win their divisions, and may even make the AFC Championship, but they WILL NOT be in the Super Bowl.
This list includes the Arizona Cardinals (http://bleacherreport.com/arizona-cardinals), Minnesota Vikings (http://bleacherreport.com/minnesota-vikings), and Baltimore Ravens (http://bleacherreport.com/baltimore-ravens).
The next group to be taken out are the ones that would have to defy history to make it to the Super Bowl.
The Dallas Cowboys (http://bleacherreport.com/dallas-cowboys)— No team has ever played the Super Bowl in their own stadium.
Indianapolis Colts, New York Jets (http://bleacherreport.com/new-york-jets), and New Orleans Saints (Minnesota has already been eliminated). Teams that make it to the Championship games, don't make it to the Super Bowl the following year.
Now, we will eliminate the choke artists. These are the teams that many believe will be in the Super Bowl, they will have excellent years, and blow it in the end, like always.
San Diego Chargers (http://bleacherreport.com/san-diego-chargers), Philadelphia Eagles (http://bleacherreport.com/philadelphia-eagles), sorry about your luck.
It has shown over the last many years, you have to have a franchise QB to win the Super Bowl.
This eliminates the Tennessee Titans (http://bleacherreport.com/tennessee-titans).
This leaves two teams left in the AFC: Pittsburgh Steelers (http://bleacherreport.com/pittsburgh-steelers) and New England Patriots (http://bleacherreport.com/new-england-patriots).
And two teams in the NFC: New York Giants (http://bleacherreport.com/new-york-giants) and Green Bay Packers (http://bleacherreport.com/green-bay-packers).
The New England Patriots are a long way from their dynasty days. Once you have a dynasty, it forbids you to go to another Super Bowl for a minimum of 10 years. This eliminates the Patriots, and sends the Pittsburgh Steelers to Super Bowl XLV.
The Giants won the Super Bowl two years ago, and it has been a long time since the Packers were there. By law of average, that means that the Packers must go again before the Giants do.
Super Bowl XLV: Green Bay Packers vs. Pittsburgh Steelers.
And as an added bonus, for reading this all the way to the end, I am going to tell you who is going to win the Super Bowl next year.
As a rematch from 2009, the Pittsburgh Steelers will defeat the Green Bay Packers when Aaron Rogers throws a pass at the end of regulation that would have given the Packers the win, the ball is intercepted by Troy Polamalu (http://bleacherreport.com/troy-polamalu) as time expires.
The best thing about the Steelers not making the playoffs this year is no one from the team will be asked to be on the cover of Madden '11.
Lombardi No. 7 is coming to Pittsburgh.
:tt02:

Link: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/332129-who-will-be-playing-in-super-bowl-xlv?utm_source=newsletter

steelersbabex25
01-26-2010, 08:42 PM
A tad bit early I would say. To eliminate 31 other teams before the 2010 season even starts is a little pre-mature, but I do like the reasoning. We'll have to see next year.

75Steeler
01-26-2010, 09:22 PM
We can always hope to be a part of the big dance next season but I have to agree with Babex25 it is a little too early to be thinking about it now.

Scorp
01-26-2010, 09:49 PM
That was a very, very interesting read. I like the sound of it very much. Anything can happen in the nfl. That was brilliant stuff. I have never read anything like that before and i for one can't wait to see who the Steelers will play in the Super Bowl.

SteelCityKid5
01-26-2010, 11:12 PM
Can we just hold on a second?

Big T
01-27-2010, 12:45 AM
Can we atleast wait til after the draft to have this discussion? It will still be early but atleast we will know the general makeup of each team....

scott0326
01-27-2010, 12:46 AM
I cant believe this is already getting discussed..

SteelerSteve
01-27-2010, 02:07 AM
I think that if you get excited and expect this to be accurate then your a dumbass. Interesting read, but thats all it is.

Troyisabeast_43
01-28-2010, 04:15 PM
If the Steelers can have a good draft and get Troy and Aaron Smith back and remain a healthy football team overall next season then yes they have an excellent chance to get back to the Super Bowl and be a major player in the AFC. Id love to see a Steelers Cowboys Super Bowl matchup next year seeing that the Super Bowl is being played in the Stadium that piece of **** Jerry Jones built. To play the Cowboys in their own stadium in the Super Bowl and beat them there at home to keep them from winning their 6th Lombardi Trophy and give the Steelers their 7th Lombardi Trophy would just be absolutely priceless and definitely one of the greatest moments in Pittsburgh Steelers franchise history..

kgreen
01-28-2010, 04:44 PM
I'm feeling a Browns/Lions Super Bowl.

Scorp
01-28-2010, 06:14 PM
I cant believe this is already getting discussed..

It's the offseason. And it's going to be very looooooonnnnnnng. :grin1:

--- Added 1/28/2010 at 05:14 PM ---


I think that if you get excited and expect this to be accurate then your a dumbass. Interesting read, but thats all it is.

Nothing to get excited about, yes, i agree. It's going to be a very loooooooooonnnnng offseason. I think anything read is worth reading.