View Full Version : The 25 modern-era semifinalists for the NFL Hall of Fame

11-17-2006, 01:33 PM
I debated if this should go into the Steelers Talk or NFL forum, but since there are Steelers on the list I figured this was a good place it!!


The nominees

The 25 modern-era semifinalists for the NFL Hall of Fame are:

Terrell Davis, RB -- 1995-2001 Denver Broncos
Dermontti Dawson, C -- 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers
Fred Dean, DE -- 1975-1981 San Diego Chargers, 1981-1985 San Francisco 49ers
Richard Dent, DE -- 1983-1993, 1995 Chicago Bears, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts, 1997 Philadelphia Eagles
Randy Gradishar, LB -- 1974-1983 Denver Broncos
Kevin Greene, LB/DE -- 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-1995 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-1999 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers
Russ Grimm, G -- 1981-1991 Washington Redskins
Ray Guy, P -- 1973-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders
Charles Haley, DE/LB -- 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-1996 Dallas Cowboys
Lester Hayes, CB -- 1977-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders
Michael Irvin, WR -- 1988-1999 Dallas Cowboys
Bob Kuechenberg, G -- 1970-1984 Miami Dolphins
Bruce Matthews, G/T/C -- 1983-2001 Houston Oilers/Tennessee Oilers/Tennessee Titans
Randall McDaniel, G -- 1988-1999 Minnesota Vikings, 2000-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Art Modell, Owner -- 1961-1995 Cleveland Browns, 1996-2003 Baltimore Ravens
Art Monk, WR -- 1980-1993 Washington Redskins, 1994 New York Jets, 1995 Philadelphia Eagles
Andre Reed, WR -- 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins
Ken Stabler, QB -- 1970-1979 Oakland Raiders, 1980-1981 Houston Oilers, 1982-1984 New Orleans Saints
Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner -- 1989-2006 National Football League
Derrick Thomas, LB -- 1989-1999 Kansas City Chiefs
Thurman Thomas, RB -- 1988-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Miami Dolphins
Andre Tippett, LB -- 1982-1993 New England Patriots
Roger Wehrli, CB -- 1969-1982 St. Louis Cardinals
George Young, GM/Administrator -- 1968-1974 Baltimore Colts, 1975-1978 Miami Dolphins, 1979-1997 New York Giants, 1998-2001 National Football League
Gary Zimmerman, T -- 1986-1992 Minnesota Vikings, 1993-1997 Denver Broncos

11-17-2006, 05:57 PM
Dawson was an outstanding center for us, the best in the business during his career. He should be a lock to get in !

Russ Grimm from the Famed Redskin Hogs, that line was one of the best ever !

I'd love to see Kevin get in, he had so many great years with the Rams and he was a monster when he was with us !

11-17-2006, 08:10 PM
se if Irvin gets in this year or not

House of Steel
11-17-2006, 08:16 PM
Irvin gets in there, I am going to be ticked off. I don't want no pot crack *** in the Hall of Fame.

11-17-2006, 08:39 PM
That crackhead doesnt derserve the success he has now !

11-18-2006, 12:28 AM
Dawson should be in no problem. I'd love to see Russ get in as well.

11-18-2006, 01:16 AM
I can't imagine too many people being happy if he gets in!

Art Modell, Owner -- 1961-1995 Cleveland Browns, 1996-2003 Baltimore RavensArt Monk deserves to be in.
Has anyone heard what team Greene would go in under?