PDA

View Full Version : Hall of Fame Semifinalists!



Stairwayto7
11-26-2008, 09:32 AM
Woodson, Dawson among Hall semifinalists
Wednesday, November 26, 2008
Former Steelers teammates Rod Woodson and Dermontti Dawson were among the 25 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2009 announced yesterday.

Woodson, drafted in 1987 and in his first year of eligibility, played cornerback. Dawson, drafted in 1988, played center.

Also on the list are former Steelers linebacker Kevin Greene and former Pitt players Russ Grimm and Chris Doleman.

The list will be cut to 15, plus two seniors candidates, before the final voting Jan. 31.

As a side note! Kevin Greene is also a semi finalists!

Wow I hope all three make it, this will be a sick time in Canton, looking forward to it!

Prosdo
11-26-2008, 09:44 AM
Congrats to Rod and Dermontti. I would really love to see these two guys get in.

BlitzburghRockCity
11-26-2008, 10:21 AM
Woodson is sure thing IMO but then again I also think Dawson should be in there as well but Im not sure he'll make it this year.

kgreen
11-26-2008, 01:08 PM
Dawson deserves it for sure!:tt02::tt02:
Also where is L.C. Greenwood? Shouldn't he be in? :thinking:

Stairwayto7
11-26-2008, 01:16 PM
Here is my take on Dermonti Dawson: If he really was the best center and or O-linemen more many years, and that it what the unbiased annoucer routinely said about him, then why shouldn`t he be in?? Time after time I heard them called him the best. The best is what HOF is all about, right?

--- Added 11/26/2008 at 11:16 AM ---

And as for Kevion Greene?
Third on all time sack list! You know Strahan is getting in, so why shouldn`t KG get in?
28 more sacks than LT! Greene better get in!
1 Bruce Smith 200
2 Reggie White 198
3 Kevin Greene 160
4 Chris Doleman 150
5 Michael Strahan 141
6 John Randle 137
7 Richard Dent 137
8 Lawrence Taylor 132
9 Leslie O'Neal 132
10 Rickey Jackson 128
11 Derrick Thomas 126
12 Simeon Rice 122
13 Clyde Simmons 121
14 JASON TAYLOR 118
15 Sean Jones 113
16 Greg Townsend 109
17 Pat Swilling 107
18 Trace Armstrong 106
19 Neil Smith 104
20 KEVIN CARTER 103

K Train
11-26-2008, 01:19 PM
woodson is a lock imo

AZ_Steeler
11-26-2008, 01:51 PM
Woodson and Greene should be locks.... As long as Woodson gets it I'll be happy! :D

DIESELMAN
11-26-2008, 08:20 PM
I would love to see Woodson and Dawson get in the HOF


CANTON, Ohio -- Four first-year eligible players, John Randle (http://www.nfl.com/players/johnrandle/profile?id=RAN332232), Shannon Sharpe (http://www.nfl.com/players/shannonsharpe/profile?id=SHA468534), Bruce Smith (http://www.nfl.com/players/brucesmith/profile?id=SMI088160), and Rod Woodson (http://www.nfl.com/players/rodwoodson/profile?id=WOO699408), are among the 25 semifinalists being considered for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2009. The Hall of Fame's Board of Selectors chose the 25 semifinalists from the recently announced list of 133 preliminary nominees.

Although he has been eligible since 1999, this is first time that Roger Craig (http://www.nfl.com/players/rogercraig/profile?id=CRA303870) has been a semifinalist. Each of the remaining 20 nominees has been on the semifinalist list at least once prior to this year. Although no coaches are among the semifinalists, the list includes three contributors, Art Modell, Paul Tagliabue and Ralph Wilson.
The complete list of 25 modern-era semifinalists is as follows:


Cris Carter (http://www.nfl.com/players/criscarter/profile?id=CAR632736), WR - 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles (http://www.nfl.com/teams/philadelphiaeagles/profile?team=PHI), 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings (http://www.nfl.com/teams/minnesotavikings/profile?team=MIN), 2002 Miami Dolphins (http://www.nfl.com/teams/miamidolphins/profile?team=MIA)
Roger Craig (http://www.nfl.com/players/rogercraig/profile?id=CRA303870), RB - 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/sanfrancisco49ers/profile?team=SF), 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings,
Terrell Davis (http://www.nfl.com/players/terrelldavis/profile?id=DAV766905), RB - 1995-2001 Denver Broncos (http://www.nfl.com/teams/denverbroncos/profile?team=DEN)
Dermontti Dawson (http://www.nfl.com/players/dermonttidawson/profile?id=DAW415288), C - 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/pittsburghsteelers/profile?team=PIT)
Richard Dent (http://www.nfl.com/players/richarddent/profile?id=DEN702790), DE - 1983-1993, 1995 Chicago Bears (http://www.nfl.com/teams/chicagobears/profile?team=CHI), 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts (http://www.nfl.com/teams/indianapoliscolts/profile?team=IND), 1997 Philadelphia Eagles
Chris Doleman (http://www.nfl.com/players/chrisdoleman/profile?id=DOL237308), DE/LB - 1985-1993, 1999 Minnesota Vikings, 1994-95 Atlanta Falcons (http://www.nfl.com/teams/atlantafalcons/profile?team=ATL), 1996-98 San Francisco 49ers
Kevin Greene (http://www.nfl.com/players/kevingreene/profile?id=GRE486846), LB/DE - 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/carolinapanthers/profile?team=CAR), 1997 San Francisco 49ers
Russ Grimm (http://www.nfl.com/players/russgrimm/profile?id=GRI773916), G - 1981-1991 Washington Redskins (http://www.nfl.com/teams/washingtonredskins/profile?team=WAS)
Ray Guy (http://www.nfl.com/players/rayguy/profile?id=GUY474616), P - 1973-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders
Charles Haley (http://www.nfl.com/players/charleshaley/profile?id=HAL084750), DE/LB - 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys (http://www.nfl.com/teams/dallascowboys/profile?team=DAL)
Lester Hayes (http://www.nfl.com/players/lesterhayes/profile?id=HAY296625), CB - 1977-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders
Cortez Kennedy (http://www.nfl.com/players/cortezkennedy/profile?id=KEN365453), DT - 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks (http://www.nfl.com/teams/seattleseahawks/profile?team=SEA)
Bob Kuechenberg (http://www.nfl.com/players/bobkuechenberg/profile?id=KUE138430), G - 1970-1984 Miami Dolphins
Randall McDaniel (http://www.nfl.com/players/randallmcdaniel/profile?id=MCD118650), G - 1988-1999 Minnesota Vikings, 2000-01 Tampa Bay Buccaneers (http://www.nfl.com/teams/tampabaybuccaneers/profile?team=TB)
Art Modell, Owner - 1961-1995 Cleveland Browns (http://www.nfl.com/teams/clevelandbrowns/profile?team=CLE), 1996-2003 Baltimore Ravens (http://www.nfl.com/teams/baltimoreravens/profile?team=BAL)
John Randle (http://www.nfl.com/players/johnrandle/profile?id=RAN332232), DT - 1990-2000 Minnesota Vikings, 2001-03 Seattle Seahawks
Andre Reed (http://www.nfl.com/players/andrereed/profile?id=REE121548), WR - 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills (http://www.nfl.com/teams/buffalobills/profile?team=BUF), 2000 Washington Redskins
Shannon Sharpe (http://www.nfl.com/players/shannonsharpe/profile?id=SHA468534), TE - 1990-99, 2002-03 Denver Broncos, 2000-01 Baltimore Ravens
Bruce Smith (http://www.nfl.com/players/brucesmith/profile?id=SMI088160), DE - 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000-03 Washington Redskins
Ken Stabler (http://www.nfl.com/players/kenstabler/profile?id=STA013616), QB - 1970-79 Oakland Raiders (http://www.nfl.com/teams/oaklandraiders/profile?team=OAK), 1980-81 Houston Oilers, 1982-84 New Orleans Saints (http://www.nfl.com/teams/neworleanssaints/profile?team=NO)
Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner - 1989-2006 National Football League
Steve Tasker (http://www.nfl.com/players/stevetasker/profile?id=TAS415290), Special Teams/WR - 1985-86 Houston Oilers, 1986-1997 Buffalo Bills
Derrick Thomas (http://www.nfl.com/players/derrickthomas/profile?id=THO103054), LB - 1989-1999 Kansas City Chiefs (http://www.nfl.com/teams/kansascitychiefs/profile?team=KC)
Ralph Wilson, Owner - 1960-current Buffalo Bills
Rod Woodson (http://www.nfl.com/players/rodwoodson/profile?id=WOO699408), CB/S - 1987-1996 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers, 1998-2001 Baltimore Ravens, 2002-03 Oakland Raiders

http://www.nfl.com/halloffame/story?id=09000d5d80ccde18&template=with-video-with-comments&confirm=true

Stairwayto7
11-26-2008, 09:08 PM
Damn good class! How about 2 out of the top three sack leaders all time!

Did Terrell Davis play long enough? I`m not so sure if he is deserving.

--- Added 11/26/2008 at 07:08 PM ---

Greene, Dent, Smith and Coleman make up 4 out of the top seven sackers ever!

Ambridge
11-27-2008, 09:32 AM
Did Terrell Davis play long enough? I`m not so sure if he is deserving.

I believe Davis played 7 seasons and really can't see why he's eligible?
He rushed for about 7600 career yards which is an average of only a little over a 1000yds a season and I've heard Davis himself blow his own that he should get special consideration because he ran for a 2000yd season and that his career was cut short because of injury.

Davis can get at the end of the long line of potentially great player whose careers were cut short due to injury.


I believe Rod Woodson is a definate lock for the HOF.

PsychoWard
11-27-2008, 10:29 AM
that is sweet they should all get in!!!!

Stairwayto7
11-27-2008, 11:20 AM
Paul Tagliabue should get in right away, we had no idea how good he was until Goodell took over