PDA

View Full Version : Need your help



Froggy
10-30-2007, 12:31 AM
I must say that you guys (and gals) are really talented

Some of the best graphics Ive seen anywhere.

I need your help.

I do web pages, but never learned to use Photoshop (very well)

and I need a webpage header kinda fast.

I have a young friend (Louis 22 yrs old) who is on his 2nd tour of Middle East

Army National Guard ... 1st time IRAQ ... now in Afghanistan

He recieved a 'head wound' this week OCT 27 and is on his way to Germany

* was shot in face / jaw - didnt hurt his brain,eyes,ears,spine ... he should be OK

I am making a website for his Mom, to keep people updated and donate for him

I need a really nice looking 'header' that is like the banners you guys make

900 x 150 jpg format ( I can use several different ones )

Maybe blended pictures of miltary, Army / National Guard logos, Bush, Liberty, Flag ... Mid East map ...

Stuff like that

Go here (http://www.supportlouis.com) to see website so far

(under construction)

Thanks again for any help you can provide

You can PM me here or Contact Us thru the website

BB2W
10-30-2007, 12:38 AM
I would be honored to take a shot at it, but I think BR7 would produce a better finished product. His skills are much better than mine.

I would like to see what he can come up with but I'll give it a shot if he doesn't have the time. :redcool:

What
10-30-2007, 11:37 AM
Hi there, Names What GFX's manager on another site, and a member here at SA. I too have would like to help as well, and offer up a banner for your friend Louis.

I myself have a family member serving over in Afghanistan in the Marines.

Froggy
10-30-2007, 02:36 PM
We welcome any help you can offer.

The website is coming along and just need it to look a little more 'patriotic'

Thanks for your concern. (Still need a few headers) * get rid of the grass picture LOL


900 x 150 ... jpg



Link to website (http://www.supportlouis.com)

What
10-30-2007, 02:47 PM
Well I just got Photoshop, I'm sure BR7's, or BB2W well come out a little better them mine.

http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/nmayes_photos/Graphics/LouisD-Banner.jpg

Froggy
10-30-2007, 03:17 PM
That looks great!

I have discovered a quirk here in trying to use it.

When I look at my headers they are 900 x 150

but my template has a narrow or wide setting for screen size
(I set it to narrow so that all users see the same thing)

but at narrow screen setting, the header is not 900 x 150

it seems to be about 767 x 150 ???

I also noticed that if there is a border on the header it is harder to adjust
and still make it look centered

Any way, could you slightly re-size this to the smaller size

seems to adjust better if the header is geared toward the BOTTOM of the image

in other words, tends to CLIP the TOP so move focus toward BOTTOM of image

Thanks again !!! Link (http://www.supportlouis.com/)

What
10-30-2007, 05:23 PM
767x150:

http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/nmayes_photos/Graphics/LouisD-Banner-1.jpg

http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s25/nmayes_photos/Graphics/LouisD-Banner-2.gif

I'm glad you like it, but before you use this though you should wait and see what the other designers come up with.

Just in case they come up with something you like better. Just a thought.

Froggy
10-30-2007, 06:30 PM
I can use as many as 6 headers

so anyone who has one ... please feel free to offer it

the more the merrier

could you make the same header without the words ?

BR7
10-30-2007, 07:22 PM
According to the CSS, looks like the normal layout is 700px wide. the 'wide' layout says 900px wide. (for the div class that holds the banner and the top banner above the links).

I could be wrong.. so maybe ask AZ nicely and he can go through it with a fine tooth comb :D

I might be able to get you something tonight.

Also, just browsing though the site rather quickly.. the pic on the update page needs a little fixing or re-'cutting' as well as the national guard logo. If you want to post that pic of him, I can re-cut that for you. and get a smoother finish for the national guard logo.

edit... doing a screenshot which isn't real accurate because of different peoples different resolutions.. I got an image size of 730 x 128.

You might want to look at the size of the default image that the template had orginally. then give us those dimensions. for both the wide and normal layout.

Froggy
10-31-2007, 11:34 PM
The size of the 'blank' one is the perfect size

Thanks again - and could use a few more

I sure could use a little help cleaning up the pictures too
the programs I use dont really clean the edges up very good

Link (http://www.supportlouis.com/)

We've gotten hundreds of HITS in the 3 days its been up

* Louis has just arrived at Walter Reed today - will have an update once I hear from his mom

------------------------------------------------------------
[AutoMerged Post Below]
------------------------------------------------------------
Heres my original for the Army Reserve Logo

http://i2.tinypic.com/5ylryx0.jpg


and here's the original for 'Louis'

http://i8.tinypic.com/5zekio0.jpg

Heres another one

http://i18.tinypic.com/4zyo5sp.jpg

------------------------------------------------------------
[AutoMerged Post Below]
------------------------------------------------------------
also noticed that

http://i7.tinypic.com/4qgk290.jpg

the area above the white line is needed for total image size (150)

but is somewhat 'transparent' and is obscured by the top menu buttons

so the actual useable space is the area beneath the white line

BR7
11-03-2007, 09:04 PM
The size of the 'blank' one is the perfect size

What is the size of the blank one or defalult one? Thats something I need to know. Or post the image of the blank one here.. either way.. I need the dimensions, the exact dimensions.

Or.. is that a Joomla template? I have 'some' err.. maybe most of them, lol.. which template is it? I can find the default image size from there.

I can clean up the images as well.

Froggy
11-04-2007, 12:25 AM
I think the original is 900 x 150

but in the narrow mode it is smaller

767 x 150 seems to work well

Here is the website if you want to get ideas Link (http://www.supportlouis.com/)

I could use several more header templates if I had them

* I am just not very good with Photoshop blending and dont have that 'artistic' eye

I know what looks good, I just cant make it

BR7
11-05-2007, 02:21 AM
Dude.. I need to know the exact size. Not 'what works well.' Really doesn't help us if it 'seems to fit.' Thats why WHATs banner is 'chopped off.'

Why should he keep 'testing' sizes or redoing it until the fit is perfect? Would be tons easier for the ones who want to help you if you gave the exact size of the banner. Im not trying to sound like an ***, but I cant do anything with a 'round-about-number.'

Froggy
11-05-2007, 02:54 AM
The best I can find for the header is 900 x 150 in wide mode - verified

and 750 x 150 in narrow mode

looks like the first (top) 20-30 pixels are hidden under the top menu (opaque)

but there is no setting for that - that i can find

i have checked both index and css and this is all i can find


750 x 150 is the narrow mode for header with 750 x 130 ? viewable

20 pix is the height of the top menu buttons that obscure part of the header

BR7
11-05-2007, 11:13 AM
ok.. try these. They have 4 borders (2px each). hopefully one of these fits to where you can see all of the borders (without none being hidden or none being stretched).

750 x 130 (http://www.eacustomcovers.com/_misc/750x130.jpg)

750 x 150 (http://www.eacustomcovers.com/_misc/750x150.jpg)


edit:

I found the template you used (ja_zibal), and the height is consistant (150px). A portion of it is behind the navigation which the nav buttons are semi-transparent. Whats weird is it uses the same image for the wide mode as it does for narrow. So it takes the wide image and squeezes its width to fit the narrow setting.

I did another screenshot and it seems like its 730 x 150.

So do me a favor, use this image (http://www.eacustomcovers.com/_misc/temp.jpg) (temporary) so I can see where the menu sits (from what I can tell, its like 22px high). those stripes are 4 px high each, so if you can use that temporary image and do a screenshot of that for me, I can get started on your banner. The green border should be visible on both sides as well.

Froggy
11-05-2007, 02:19 PM
I substituted all three of your images and took a snapshot

looks like the blue/green is the best fit


http://www.supportlouis.com/web/test_thumb.jpg (http://www.supportlouis.com/web/test1.jpg)
Test 1 - blue/green


http://www.supportlouis.com/web/test_thumb.jpg (http://www.supportlouis.com/web/test2.jpg)
Test 2 - 750x150


http://www.supportlouis.com/web/test_thumb.jpg (http://www.supportlouis.com/web/test3.jpg)
Test 3 - 750x130

Froggy
11-06-2007, 12:27 PM
??? ??